Awards & Winners

CBI Book of the Year Awards

The CBI Book of the Year Awards, previously known as the Bisto Book of the Year Awards, are literary awards presented annually in the Republic of Ireland to writers and illustrators of books for children and young people. The Awards are run by Children's Books Ireland and are open to authors and illustrators born or resident in Ireland; books may be written in English or Irish. Many bestselling, internationally renowned authors have won a "Bisto", including Eoin Colfer, John Boyne and several times winner Kate Thompson. First awarded in 1990, prizes are awarded in three categories: CBI Book of the Year Award Eilís Dillon Award for a First Children's Book, named in honour of writer Eilís Dillon three Merit Awards, which in 2012 were: Judges' Special Recognition Award CBI Honour Award for Illustration CBI Honour Award for Writing The winner of Book of the Year wins a perpetual trophy and €10,000; the 3 winners of the Merit Award share a combined prize fund of €6,000; the Eilís Dillon Award winner for first time writers also wins a trophy and €3,000. In 2010, the Children's Choice award was introduced to mark the 20th anniversary of the Bisto Book of the Year Awards. It was chosen by 10 Junior Juries from all around Ireland, and was awarded to Jane Mitchell's Chalkline. The Judges' Special Recognition Award was not awarded in 2010.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the CBI Book of the Year Awards since 1991.

CBI Book of the Year Awards


Check all the winners of 2010 CBI Book of the Year Awards.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Bob Burke
Honored for : The Third Pig Detective Agency