Awards & Winners

Collier Trophy

The Collier Trophy is an annual aviation award administered by the U.S. National Aeronautic Association, presented to those who have made "the greatest achievement in aeronautics or astronautics in America, with respect to improving the performance, efficiency, and safety of air or space vehicles, the value of which has been thoroughly demonstrated by actual use during the preceding year." Robert J. Collier, publisher of Collier's Weekly magazine, was an air sports pioneer and president of the Aero Club of America. He commissioned the 525 pound trophy in 1911, originally named the Aero Club of America Trophy. Collier also was the owner of a Wright Model B biplane which he purchased in 1911. After presenting it several times, Collier died in 1918 after the end of World War I. It was renamed in his honor in 1922 when the Aero Club dissolved, and the award was taken over by the NAA. The name became official in 1944, and the award presented once a year by the NAA president, with the trophy on permanent display at the U.S. National Air and Space Museum. As such, the trophy was in the custody of its 1969 co-recipient, Michael Collins during his directorship of the museum.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Collier Trophy since 1961.

Collier Trophy


Check all the winners of 1978 Collier Trophy.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Sam B. Williams
(for developing the world\u2019s smallest fanjet engine)