Awards & Winners

Compton Crook Award

The Compton Crook Award is presented to the best first English language novel of the year in the field of Science Fiction, Fantasy, or Horror by the members of the Baltimore Science Fiction Society, Inc, at their annual Baltimore-area science fiction convention, Balticon, held on Memorial Day weekend in the Baltimore, Maryland area. Awards have been presented since 1983. The award is also known as the Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award. BSFS has presented “The Compton Crook Award” each Balticon SM for “... the best first novel in the genre published during the previous year ...”. The list of eligible books is published in the monthly newsletter so all club members will have a chance to read and vote. The winning author is invited to Balticon, and presented with the cash award set at $1,000.00 post 2005. Compton Crook, who used the nom de plume Stephen Tall, died in 1981. He was a long-time Baltimore resident, Towson University professor, and science fiction author.

|   Balticon 44  |
Compton Crook Award Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Compton Crook Award since 1983.

Compton Crook Award


Check all the winners of 2010 Compton Crook Award.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Paolo Bacigalupi
Honored for : The Windup Girl