Awards & Winners

Fields Medal

The Fields Medal, officially known as International Medal for Outstanding Discoveries in Mathematics, is a prize awarded to two, three, or four mathematicians not over 40 years of age at each International Congress of the International Mathematical Union, a meeting that takes place every four years. The Fields Medal is often viewed as the greatest honour a mathematician can receive. The Fields Medal and the Abel Prize have often been described as the "mathematician's Nobel Prize". The prize comes with a monetary award, which since 2006 is $15,000. The colloquial name is in honour of Canadian mathematician John Charles Fields. Fields was instrumental in establishing the award, designing the medal itself, and funding the monetary component. The medal was first awarded in 1936 to Finnish mathematician Lars Ahlfors and American mathematician Jesse Douglas, and it has been awarded every four years since 1950. Its purpose is to give recognition and support to younger mathematical researchers who have made major contributions. No woman has won a Fields Medal. The average Erdős number of Fields Medalists is 3.21, with a standard deviation of 0.87 and a median of 3.

|   2014 Fields Medal Ceremony  |   1936 Fields Medal Ceremony  |
Fields Medal Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Fields Medal since 1936.

Fields Medal


Check all the winners of 2014 Fields Medal.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Maryam Mirzakhani
(For her outstanding contributions to the dynamics and geometry of Riemann surfaces and their moduli spaces.)
Manjul Bhargava
(For developing powerful new methods in the geometry of numbers, which he applied to count rings of small rank and to bound the average rank of elliptic curves.)
Martin Hairer
(For his outstanding contributions to the theory of stochastic partial differential equations, and in particular created a theory of regularity structures for such equations.)
Artur Avila
(For his profound contributions to dynamical systems theory have changed the face of the field, using the powerful idea of renormalization as a unifying principle.)