Awards & Winners

Fundamental Physics Prize

Fundamental Physics Prize

The Fundamental Physics Prize is the major prize awarded by the Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation.
The Fundamental Physics Prize is the major prize awarded by the Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation.
Date Established : 2012-07

Check all the winners of Fundamental Physics Prize presented under Fundamental Physics Prize since 2012 .

Alexander Markovich Polyakov

(For his many discoveries in field theory and string theory including the conformal bootstrap, magnetic monopoles, instantons, confinement/de-confinement, the quantization of strings in non-critical dimensions, gauge/string duality and many others. His ideas have dominated the scene in these fields during the past decades.)

Nima Arkani-Hamed

(For original approaches to outstanding problems in particle physics, including the proposal of large extra dimensions, new theories for the Higgs boson, novel realizations of supersymmetry, theories for dark matter, and the exploration of new mathematical structures in gauge theory scattering amplitudes.)

Alan Guth

(For the invention of inflationary cosmology, and for his contributions to the theory for the generation of cosmological density fluctuations arising from quantum fluctuations in the early universe, and for his ongoing work on the problem of defining probabilities in eternally inflating spacetimes.)

Alexei Kitaev

(For the theoretical idea of implementing robust quantum memories and fault-tolerant quantum computation using topological quantum phases with anyons and unpaired Majorana modes.)

Maxim Kontsevich

(For numerous contributions which have taken the fruitful interaction between modern theoretical physics and mathematics to new heights, including the development of homological mirror symmetry, and the study of wall-crossing phenomena.)

Andrei Linde

(For the development of inflationary cosmology, including the theory of new inflation, eternal chaotic inflation and the theory of inflationary multiverse, and for contributing to the development of vacuum stabilization mechanisms in string theory.)

Juan Martín Maldacena

(For the gauge/gravity duality, relating gravitational physics in a spacetime and quantum field theory on the boundary of the spacetime.)

Nathan Seiberg

(For major contributions to our understanding of quantum field theory and string theory.)

Ashoke Sen

(For uncovering striking evidence of strong-weak duality in certain supersymmetric string theories and gauge theories, opening the path to the realization that all string theories are different limits of the same underlying theory.)

Edward Witten

(For contributions to physics spanning topics such as new applications of topology to physics, non perturbative duality symmetries, models of particle physics derived from string theory, dark matter detection, and the twistor-string approach to particle scattering amplitudes, as well as numerous applications of quantum field theory to mathematics.)