Awards & Winners

German Book Prize

The German Book Prize is awarded annually in October by the Börsenverein des Deutschen Buchhandels, the German Publishers and Booksellers Association, to the best German language novel of the year. The books, published in Germany, Austria and Switzerland, are nominated by their publishers, who can propose up to two books from their current or planned publication list. The books should be in shops before the short-list is announced in September of the award year. The winner is awarded € 25,000, while the five shortlisted authors receive € 2,500 each. It is presented annually during the Frankfurt Book Fair. The prize was created in 2005 to heighten awareness for authors writing in German. It is based on the same idea as literary prizes such as the Man Booker Prize or the Prix Goncourt.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the German Book Prize since 2005.

German Book Prize


Check all the winners of 2009 German Book Prize.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Kathrin Schmidt
Honored for : Du stirbst nicht