Awards & Winners

Golden Rooster Awards

The Golden Rooster Award are awards in film given in mainland China. The awards are given annually, beginning in 1981. The name of the award came from the year of the Rooster in 1981. Award recipients receive a statuette in the shape of a golden rooster, and are selected by a jury of film makers, film experts, and film historians. The awards are given out by the China Film Association. Originally, Golden Roosters were only available to mainland Chinese nominees, but in 2005, the awards opened up the acting categories to actors from Taiwan, Hong Kong, and elsewhere in an effort to compete with Taiwan's Golden Horse Awards. Originally, the film festival consisted of two distinct events, the Golden Rooster festival and a separate festival for the Hundred Flowers Awards. The two festivals were combined into a single national festival in 1992. The Golden Rooster and Hundred Flowers Awards have taken place on alternate years since 2005, with the Golden Rooster taking place on odd years. Films in the past two years are eligible for the Golden Rooster awards since 2007.

|   29th Golden Rooster Awards  |   28th Golden Rooster Awards  |   27th Golden Rooster Awards  |
Golden Rooster Awards Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Golden Rooster Awards since 1981.

Golden Rooster Awards


Check all the winners of 2013 Golden Rooster Awards.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Huang Xiaoming
Honored for : American Dreams in China
Peter Chan
Honored for : American Dreams in China