Awards & Winners

Governor General's Awards

The Governor General's Awards are a collection of awards presented by the Governor General of Canada, marking distinction in a number of academic, artistic and social fields. The first was conceived in 1937 by the Lord Tweedsmuir, a prolific author of fiction and non-fiction who created the Governor General's Literary Award. Successive governors general have followed suit, establishing an award for whichever endeavour they personally found important. Only Adrienne Clarkson created two Governor General's Awards—the Governor General's Award in Visual and Media Arts and the Governor General's Medal in Architecture.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Governor General's Awards since 1936.

Governor General's Awards


Check all the winners of 2010 Governor General's Awards.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Allan Casey
Honored for : Lakeland: Journeys into the Soul of Canada