Awards & Winners

Guardian Children's Fiction Prize

The Guardian Children's Fiction Prize or Guardian Award is a literary award that annually recognises one fiction book written for children or young adults and published in the United Kingdom. It is conferred upon the author of the book by The Guardian newspaper, which established it in 1965 and inaugurated it in 1967. It is a lifetime award in that previous winners are not eligible. At least since 2000 the prize is £1,500. The shortlist of no more than four books and the winner are selected by three children's fiction writers, almost always including the latest winner. The Guardian calls it the only children's book award winner selected by peers. The newspaper's children's book editor Julia Eccleshare participates in selection of the longlist and thereafter chairs the panel of final judges. In recent years there is a longlist of eight books announced May or June, a shortlist of no more than four announced in September, and a single winner. The longlist is the foundation for a summer program of reading, reviewing, and discussion. The U.K. publishers of eligible books must enter them for the prize with a fee, although the chair may call for submission. The publication year is August to July of the current year, but May, June, and July books must be submitted in advance. Books originally published in another language are eligible in English translation for five years.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize since 1967.

Guardian Children's Fiction Prize Nominations 2014

Check all the nominations of Guardian Children's Fiction Prize for the year 2014.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get more details.)
Kate DiCamillo
Nominated for : Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures
S. F. Said
Nominated for : Phoenix
E. Lockhart
Nominated for : We Were Liars
Piers Torday
Nominated for : Dark Wild