Awards & Winners

Hans Christian Andersen Award

The Hans Christian Andersen Awards are a pair of biennial literary awards by the International Board on Books for Young People, recognising one living author and one living illustrator for their "lasting contribution[s] to children's literature". The writing award was inaugurated in 1956, the illustration award in 1966. The former is sometimes called the "Nobel Prize for children's literature". The awards are named for Hans Christian Andersen, the 19th-century Danish author of fairy tales, and each winner receive the Hans Christian Andersen Medaille, a gold medal with the bust of Andersen. Medals are presented by the Queen of Denmark at the biennial IBBY Congress.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Hans Christian Andersen Award since 1956.

Hans Christian Andersen Award


Check all the winners of 2010 Hans Christian Andersen Award.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)