Awards & Winners

Iris Prize

The Iris Prize, established in 2007 by The Festivals Company, is an international gay and lesbian short film prize which is open to any short film which is by, for, about or of interest to gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender or intersex audiences and which must have been completed within 2 years prior to the prize deadline. The Prize is open to filmmakers from around the world and judged by a panel of international filmmakers and artists. The winner receives the largest prize for a gay and lesbian short film in the world—a package valued at £25,000—allowing the winner to make their next short film. It is awarded during a four-day festival held in Cardiff that presents a programme of screenings including the 30 competing short films, several feature films, panel sessions with visiting film makers and culminates in a closing night award ceremony. The Iris Prize has secured the support of lesbian and gay film festivals from around the world, creating a single international platform with the intention of raising the profile of lesbian and gay cinema and helping a new generation of filmmakers achieve success on the international stage. Each of the partner festivals selects one film annually to participate in the Iris Prize. The partner festivals include Toronto, Los Angeles, New York, Sydney, Dublin, London, San Francisco, Philadelphia, Miami, Montreal and Hong Kong.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Iris Prize since 2007.


Iris Prize


Check all the winners of 2011 Iris Prize.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Daniel Ribeiro
Honored for : I Don't Want to Go Back Alone