Awards & Winners

John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science

John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science

The John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science is awarded by the U.S. National Academy of Sciences "for noteworthy and distinguished accomplishments in any field of science within the charter of the Academy". First awarded in 1931, the medal has been awarded in specific fields since 1961.
Date Established : 1931

Check all the winners of John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science presented under John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science since 1932 .

Michael I. Posner

(Cognitive science. For outstanding contributions to the understanding of spatial attention and for pioneering investigations of the neural basis of cognition using non-invasive functional brain imaging methods.)

Andre Geim

(Physics. For his experimental realization and investigation of graphene, the two-dimensional form of carbon.)

Joe Felsenstein

(Evolution. For revolutionizing population genetics, phylogenetic biology, and systematics by developing a sophisticated computational framework to deduce evolutionary relationships of genes and species from molecular data.)

Thomas Eisner

(Ecology. For pathbreaking studies of the myriad ways that organisms utilize chemistry to mediate ecological interactions and providing a foundation for the field of chemical ecology.)

Joseph R. Ecker

(Plant science. For contributions in the areas of ethylene signal transduction and Arabidopsis genomics that have paved the way for a revolution in modern agriculture.)

Russell Doolittle

(Computational science. For contributing seminal insights and methods for using computers as an aid to characterizing protein function, in comparing amino acid sequences, and for phylogenetic reconstructions.)

Robert Cava

(Materials. For his outstanding contributions in the synthesis and characterization of many new materials that display interesting and important superconducting, dielectric, magnetic, or thermal properties.)

Elinor Ostrom

(Social/Political science. For her exceptional contributions to the study of social institutions, research that has greatly advanced our understanding of resource management, and the governance of local public economies.)

David A. Freedman

(Statistics. For his profound contributions to the theory and practice of statistics, including rigorous foundations for Bayesian influence and trenchant analysis of census adjustment.)

Donald Lynden-Bell

(Astronomy/Astrophysics. For his outstanding work in theoretical astrophysics, and especially for the originality of his contributions to our understanding of the collective dynamic effects within stellar systems.)

Patrick V. Kirch

(Anthropology. For the unique breadth of his distinguished anthropological accomplishments, spanning many Pacific islands and joining their archeology with ethnobotany, ethnobiohistory, historical linguistics, and human biology.)

Marina Ratner

(Mathematics. For her striking proof of the Raghunathan conjectures.)

Joseph Hooton Taylor, Jr.

(Physics. For developing pulsar timing experiments with exquisite accuracy to make fundamental studies of gravitation, including gravitational radiation and high-order tests of general relativity.)

Motoo Kimura

(Evolutionary biology. By demonstrating the role of stochastic processes in inducing and maintaining most allelic diveristy in nature, he has unified molecular biology with evolutionary theory, thereby strengthening both fields.)

Robert H. Burris

(Agricultural sciences. For his penetrating studies of the biochemistry of nitrogen fixation have enriched the agricultural sciences by deed and example.)

Shing-Tung Yau


John Mather

(Pure mathematics.)

John Tuzo Wilson

(Earth science.)

James D. Watson

(Molecular biology.)

Murray Gell-Mann

(Theoretical physics.)

Alfred Sturtevant


Maurice Ewing