Awards & Winners

Lasker Award

The Lasker Awards have been awarded annually since 1946 to living persons who have made major contributions to medical science or who have performed public service on behalf of medicine. They are administered by the Lasker Foundation, founded by Albert Lasker and his wife Mary Woodard Lasker. The awards are sometimes referred to as "America's Nobels". Eighty-six Lasker laureates have received the Nobel Prize, including 32 in the last two decades. Claire Pomeroy is the current President of the Foundation. The four main awards are: Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award Lasker~DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award Lasker~Bloomberg Public Service Award Lasker~Koshland Special Achievement Award in Medical Science Alcoholics Anonymous received a Group Citation from the Lasker Foundation in 1951. A collection of papers from the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation were donated to the National Library of Medicine by Mrs. Albert D. Lasker in April of 1985.

|   2014 Lasker Awards Luncheon  |
Lasker Award Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Lasker Award since 1946.

Lasker Award


Check all the winners of 2014 Lasker Award.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Kazutoshi Mori, Peter Walter
(For discoveries concerning the unfolded protein response \u2014 an intracellular quality control system that detects harmful misfolded proteins in the endoplasmic reticulum and signals the nucleus to carry out corrective measures.)
Alim-Louis Benabid, Mahlon DeLong
(For the development of deep brain stimulation of the subthalamic nucleus, a surgical technique that reduces tremors and restores motor function in patients with advanced Parkinson's disease.)
Mary-Claire King
(For bold, imaginative, and diverse contributions to medical science and human rights \u2014 she discovered the BRCA1 gene locus that causes hereditary breast cancer and deployed DNA strategies that reunite missing persons or their remains with their families.)