Awards & Winners

Latin Grammy Award for Best New Artist

Latin Grammy Award

The Latin Grammy Award for Best New Artist is an honor presented annually at the Latin Grammy Awards, a ceremony that recognizes excellence and creates a wider awareness of cultural diversity and contributions of Latin recording artists, nationally and internationally. The award is given to solo artists or groups that first establish an identity to the public as a performer and release a Spanish or Portuguese language recording during the period of eligibility. In 2012, the Academy announced the category would include ten nominees to reflect changes within the music industry. The award for Best New Artist was first presented to the Cuban performer Ibrahim Ferrer in 2000. Benefiting from the release of the documentary Buena Vista Social Club, which launched him to stardom, Ferrer received the award at age seventy-three after being a performer for sixty years. The next three award recipients were Juanes, Jorge Moreno, and David Bisbal. In 2004, Brazilian singer Maria Rita became the first female winner. Spanish singer-songwriter Bebe announced her retirement one year after receiving the 2005 award; however, she returned to the music business five years later with the release of her second album, Y. The bands Calle 13 and Jesse & Joy won the next two awards, followed by singers Kany García, Alexander Acha, Alex Cuba, Sie7e and Mexican DJ's 3Ball MTY.
Date Established : 2000

Check all the winners of Latin Grammy Award for Best New Artist presented under Latin Grammy Award since 2000 .

Nominations 2013 »

Nominee Nominated Work
A Band of Bitches
Leslie Cartaya
Clarice Falcão
Jesús Hidalgo
Mojito Lite
Gaby Moreno
Milton Salcedo

Nominations 2012 »

Nominee Nominated Work
3Ball MTY
Gaby Amarantos
Deborah De Corral
Ulises Hadjis
Los Mesoneros
Juan Magan
Rosario Ortega
Piso 21
Ana Victoria

Nominations 2011 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Pablo Alborán
Max Capote
Paula Fernandes
Il Volo

Nominations 2010 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Alex Cuba
Koko Stambuk
Estrella María Benzo Blas
Maria Gadú

Nominations 2009 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Alexander Acha
Choc Quib Town
Claudio Corsi
India Martinez
Luz Rios

Nominations 2008 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Kany García
Mónica Giraldo
Diogo Nogueira
Roberta Sá
Ximena Sariñana

Nominations 2007 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Alejandra Alberti
Dafnis Prieto
Ricky Vallen
Jesse & Joy

Nominations 2006 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Calle 13
Inés Gaviria
Lena Burke
Pamela Rodriguez


Honored for : Pafuera telarañas

Nominations 2005 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Bebe Pafuera telarañas
JD Natasha
Diana Navarro

Nominations 2004 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Maria Rita
Obie Bermúdez
Mauricio & Palodeagua

Nominations 2003 »

Nominee Nominated Work
David Bisbal
Tiziano Ferro
Natalia Lafourcade
Fernanda Porto
Álex Ubago

Nominations 2002 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Jorge Moreno
Andrés Cabas
Gianmarco Zignago
Sin Bandera

Nominations 2001 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Bebel Gilberto
Sindicato Argentino Del Hip Hop
Manuel Vargas

Nominations 2000 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Ibrahim Ferrer
Café Quijano
Amaury Gutiérrez
Fernando Osorio
Ivete Sangalo