Awards & Winners

Massry Prize

Massry Prize

The Massry Prize was established in 1996, and until 2009 was administered by the Meira and Shaul G. Massry Foundation. The Prize, of $40,000 and the Massry Lectureship, is bestowed upon scientists who have made substantial recent contributions in the biomedical sciences. Shaul G. Massry, M.D., who established the Massry Foundation, is Professor Emeritus of Medicine and Physiology and Biophysics at the Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California. He served as Chief of its Division of Nephrology from 1974 to 2000. In 2009 the KECK School of Medicine was asked to administer the Prize, and has done so since that time. Nine winners of the Massry Prize have gone on to be awarded a Nobel Prize.
Date Established : 1996

Check all the winners of Massry Prize presented under Massry Prize since 1996 .

Michael Sheetz, James Spudich, Ronald Vale

(For their work defining molecular mechanisms of intracellular motility.)

Jeffrey C Hall

(Genetics of Drosphila, function of the nervous system; molecular neurogenetics of courtship and molecular neurogenetics of biological rhythms)

Michael Rosbash

(RNA processing and the genes and mechanisms that underlie circadian rhythms)

Michael W. Young

(Genetics of Sleep and the Circadian Rhythms; Cloed the clock gene period)

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

(Chaperone-assisted protein folding)

Arthur L. Horwich

(Chaperonin-mediated protein folding)

James Rothman

(Membrane fusion)

Randy Schekman

(Cellular memranes)

Gary Ruvkun, Victor Ambros

(Co-discovery of microRNA)

Shinya Yamanaka, James Thomson, Rudolf Jaenisch

(For their work in the field of Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells.)

Michael E. Phelps

(For the development of the PET Scan and its Clinical Application.)

Akira Endo

(for his Discovery of Statins)

Mario Capecchi, Oliver Smithies

(For their pioneering work on Gene targeting.)

Judah Folkman

(In the field of Growth Factors.)

Mark Ptashne

(In the field of Regulation of Transcription.)

Michael Berridge

(In the field of Signal Transduction.)