Awards & Winners

Matteucci Medal

Matteucci Medal

The Matteucci Medal is an Italian award for physicists, named after Carlo Matteucci. It was established to award physicists for their fundamental contributions. Under an Italian Royal Decree dated July 10, 1870, the Italian Society of Sciences was authorized to receive a donation from Carlo Matteucci for the establishment of the Prize. 1868 Hermann Helmholtz 1875 Henri Victor Regnault 1876 William Thomson, 1st Baron Kelvin 1877 Gustav Kirchhoff 1878 Gustav Wiedemann 1879 Wilhelm Eduard Weber 1880 Antonio Pacinotti 1881 Emilio Villari 1882 Augusto Righi 1887 Thomas Edison 1888 Heinrich Rudolph Hertz 1894 John Strutt, 3rd Baron Rayleigh 1895 Henry Augustus Rowland 1896 Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen and Philipp Lenard 1901 Guglielmo Marconi 1903 Albert Abraham Michelson 1904 Marie Curie and Pierre Curie 1905 Henri Poincaré 1906 James Dewar 1907 William Ramsay 1908 Antonio Garbasso 1909 Orso Mario Corbino 1910 Heike Kamerlingh Onnes 1911 Jean Perrin 1912 Pieter Zeeman 1913 Ernest Rutherford 1914 Max von Laue 1915 Johannes Stark 1915 William Henry Bragg and William Lawrence Bragg 1917 Antonino Lo Surdo 1918 Robert W. Wood 1919 Henry Gwyn-Jeffreys Moseley 1921 Albert Einstein 1923 Niels Bohr 1924 Arnold Sommerfeld
Date Established : 1868

Check all the winners of Matteucci Medal presented under Matteucci Medal since 1887 .

Albert Einstein

(For fundamental contributions to the progress of science)