Awards & Winners

Indira Gandhi Award for Best First Film of a Director

National Film Awards

The Indira Gandhi Award for Best First Film of a Director is one of the National Film Awards presented annually by the Directorate of Film Festivals, the organization set up by Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, India. It is one of several awards presented for feature films and awarded with Golden Lotus. The award was instituted in 1980, at 28th National Film Awards and awarded annually for films produced in the year across the country, in all Indian languages. Award includes 'Golden Lotus Award' and cash prize. Award, sometimes, also be given as Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of A Director. Following are the award winners over the years:
Date Established : 1980

Check all the winners of Indira Gandhi Award for Best First Film of a Director presented under National Film Awards since 1988 .

Bedabrato Pain

Honored for : Chittagong

Sidhartha Siva, Thomas Kottakkakam

Honored for : 101 Chodyangal

Thiagarajan Kumararaja, S. P. B. Charan

Honored for : Anima and Persona

Nita Jadhav, Rajesh Pinjani

Honored for : Baboo Band Baaja

UTV Motion Pictures, Neeraj Pandey

Honored for : A Wednesday!

Shivajee Chandrabhushan

Honored for : Frozen

Anthony Joseph, Madhu Kaithapram

Honored for : Eakantham

Aditya Chopra, Kabir Khan

Honored for : Kabul Express

Vidhu Vinod Chopra, Pradeep Sarkar

Honored for : Parineeta

Rajiv Vijay Raghavan

Honored for : Margam

Niti Sonee Gourisaria, Abhijit Choudhury

Honored for : Patalghar

Debjani Gupta, Subhadro Chaudhary

Honored for : Prohor

Nair Krishnakamur, Lohithadas

Honored for : Bhoothakkannadi

J. Dharmambal, Gnana Rajasekaran

Honored for : Mogha Mull

Nabendu Ghosh

Honored for : Trishagni