Awards & Winners

National Film Award for Best Book on Cinema

National Film Awards

The National Film Award for Best Book on Cinema is one of the National Film Awards presented annually by the Directorate of Film Festivals, the organisation set up by Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, India. It is one of several awards presented for Best Writing on Indian Cinema and awarded with Swarna Kamal. The award was instituted in 1981, at 29th National Film Awards and awarded annually for films produced in the year across the country, in all Indian languages.

Check all the winners of National Film Award for Best Book on Cinema presented under National Film Awards since 1988 .

Nandagopal, Praga India

Honored for : Cinema Ga Cinema

B. D. Garga, HarperCollins India

Honored for : Silent Cinema in India: A Pictorial Journey

Anirudha Bhattacharjee, Balaji Vittal, HarperCollins

Honored for : R. D. Burman: The Man The Music

Vijaya Mulay, Seagull Books

Honored for : From Rajahs and Yogis to Gandhi and Beyond: Images of India in International Films of the Twentieth Century

Kalastavadi Puttaswamy, Hasiru Prakashana

Honored for : Cinemaa Yaana

Ganesh Anantharaman, Penguin Books

Honored for : Bollywood Melodies

B. D. Garga, Penguin Books

Honored for : From Raj to Swaraj: The Non-fiction Film In India

Penguin Books, Jerry Pinto

Honored for : Helen: The Life and Times of an H-Bomb

Saransh Prakashan, Sharad Dutt

Honored for : Kundan

Roopa Swaminathan, Penguin Books

Honored for : Stardust - Vignettes from the Fringes of Film Industry

Bharatiya Jnanpith, Ramakrishna

Honored for : Filmi Jagat Mein Ardhashakti Ka Romanch

Shoma Chatterjee, Parumita Publications

Honored for : Paroma and other Outsiders: The Cinema of Aparna Sen

Saaransh Publications Pvt. Ltd., Sharad Dutt

Honored for : Ritu Aaye Ritu Jaaye

Apurba Sarma, Jnan Pujari

Honored for : Asoumiya Chalachitrar Chaa-Pohar

Gangadhar Mahambare, Rajiv D. Barve

Honored for : Moulik Marathi Chitrageete

S. Theodore Baskaran, East West Books Pvt. Ltd.

Honored for : The Eye of the Serpent

Bharath Gopi, P. Bhuvanesan

Honored for : Abhinayam Anubhavam

Kishore Valicha

Honored for : The Moving Image