Awards & Winners

National Film Award for Best Direction

National Film Awards

The National Film Award for Best Direction is one of the National Film Awards presented annually by the Directorate of Film Festivals, India, and was constituted in 1967. This is one of the Golden Lotus Awards given among National Film Awards. It is announced for films produced in a year across the country, in all Indian languages. As of 2014, Satyajit Ray is the most frequent winner with six awards. The award winners for Best Direction are given below. The award comprises a Swarna Kamal medallion, a cash prize of 2,50,000/- and a certificate.
Date Established : 1967

Check all the winners of National Film Award for Best Direction presented under National Film Awards since 1967 .

Hansal Mehta

Honored for : Shahid

Shivaji Lotan Patil

Honored for : Dhag

Gurvinder Singh

Honored for : Alms for a Blind Horse


Honored for : Aadukalam

Rituparno Ghosh

Honored for : The Eternal


Honored for : Naan Kadavul

Adoor Gopalakrishnan

Honored for : Naalu Pennungal

Madhur Bhandarkar

Honored for : Traffic Signal

Rahul Dholakia

Honored for : Parzania

Buddhadeb Dasgupta

Honored for : Chased by Dreams

Goutam Ghose

Honored for : In the Forest... Again

Aparna Sen

Honored for : Mr. and Mrs. Iyer

B. Lenin

Honored for : Ooruku Nooruper


Honored for : Kaliyattam


Honored for : Kadhal Kottai

Saeed Akhtar Mirza

Honored for : The Morning Breeze

Jahnu Barua

Honored for : It\u2019s a Long Way to the Sea

Shaji N. Karun

Honored for : Piravi

Adoor Gopalakrishnan

Honored for : Anantaram

G. Aravindan

Honored for : Thampu

G. Aravindan

Honored for : Kanchana Sita

P. Lankesh

Honored for : Pallavi

Satyajit Ray

Honored for : The Middleman

Mrinal Sen

Honored for : Bhuvan Shome

Satyajit Ray

Honored for : The Adventures of Goopy and Bagha

Satyajit Ray

Honored for : Chiriyakhana