Awards & Winners

National Film Award for Best Feature Film in English

National Film Awards

The National Film Award for Best Feature Film in English is one of the National Film Awards presented annually by the Directorate of Film Festivals, the organisation set up by Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, India. It is one of several awards presented for feature films and awarded with Rajat Kamal. The National Film Awards, established in 1954, are the most prominent film awards in India that merit the best of the Indian cinema. The ceremony also presents awards for films in various regional languages. Awards for films in seven regional language started from 2nd National Film Awards which were presented on 21 December 1955. Three awards of "President's Silver Medal for Best Feature Film", "Certificate of Merit for the Second Best Feature Film" and "Certificate of Merit for the Third Best Feature Film" were instituted. The later two certificate awards were discontinued from 15th National Film Awards. Produced and directed by Serbjeet Singh, the 1964 film The Avalanche was honoured with the first president's Silver Medal for Best Feature Film in English.
Date Established : 1964

Check all the winners of National Film Award for Best Feature Film in English presented under National Film Awards since 1964 .

Veena Bakshi, Shree Narayan Studios

Honored for : The Coffin Maker

Unni Vijayan, Prince Thampi

Honored for : Lessons in Forgetting

Shrikant Mohta, Sanjoy Nag

Honored for : Memories in March

Avantika Hari, Vivek Agrawal

Honored for : Land Gold Women

Arindam Chaudhuri, Rituparno Ghosh

Honored for : The Last Lear

Amol Palekar

Honored for : Quest

Aparna Sen, Bipin Vohra

Honored for : 15 Park Avenue

Shonali Bose

Honored for : Amu

Prakash Belawadi, 2 Streams Media

Honored for : Stumble

Revathi, Suresh Chandra Menon

Honored for : Mitr, My Friend

National Film Development Corporation of India, Shyam Benegal

Honored for : The Making of the Mahatma

Anuradha Parikh, Dev Benegal

Honored for : English, August

Pradip Krishen

Honored for : In Which Annie Gives It Those Ones

Nominations 1988 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Pradip Krishen In Which Annie Gives It Those Ones

Serbjeet Singh

Honored for : The Avalanche
(President's Silver Medal)