Awards & Winners

National Film Award for Best Music Direction

National Film Awards

The National Film Award for Best Music Direction, is an honour presented annually at the National Film Awards by the Directorate of Film Festivals to a musician who has composed the best score for films produced with in the Indian film industry. The award was first introduced at the 15th National Film Awards in 1967. At the 42nd National Film Awards, an award for "Best Background Score" was instituted. It was however discontinued after that and it was not until the 2009 that the category was re-introduced. Throughout the past 46 years the Government of India has presented a total of 53 awards—including award for Best Background score—to 40 different composers. Although the Indian film industry produces films in around 20 languages and dialects, the recipients of the award include those who have worked in seven major languages: Hindi, Telugu, Malayalam, Tamil, Bengali, Kannada and Marathi. The first recipient of the award was K. V. Mahadevan who was honoured for his composition in the from Tamil film Kandan Karunai. A. R. Rahman and Ilaiyaraaja are the most frequent winners having won the awards four times. Jaidev is the second-most winner with three awards. Five musicians—B. V.
Date Established : 1967

Check all the winners of National Film Award for Best Music Direction presented under National Film Awards since 1967 .

Kabir Suman

Honored for : Jaatishwar

Shantanu Moitra

Honored for : Na Bangaaru Talli
(Background Score)

Shailendra Barve

Honored for : Samhita


Honored for : Kaliyachan
(Background Score)

Neel Dutt

Honored for : Ranjana Ami Ar Ashbona

Mayookh Bhaumik

Honored for : Laptop
(Background Score)

Vishal Bharadwaj

Honored for : Ishqiya

Isaac Thomas Kottukapally

Honored for : Abu, Son of Adam
(Background Score)

Amit Trivedi

Honored for : Dev D


Honored for : Kerala Varma Pazhassi Raja
(Background Score)


Honored for : Jogwa


Honored for : The Sea Within

Gundecha Brothers

Honored for : Raga Of River Narmada

Ashok Patki

Honored for : Antarnad

Lalgudi Jayaraman

Honored for : Sringaram


Honored for : Swarabhishekam
(Songs and Background Score)


Honored for : Kal Ho Naa Ho

A. R. Rahman

Honored for : Kannathil Muthamittal
(Songs and Background Score)

A. R. Rahman

Honored for : Lagaan: Once Upon a Time in India
(Songs and Background Score)

M.M. Keeravaani

Honored for : Annamayya

A. R. Rahman

Honored for : Minsaara Kanavu


Honored for : Sangeetha Sagara Ganayogi Panchakshara Gavai


Honored for : Sukrutham, Parinayam


Honored for : Sukrutham
(Background Score)


Honored for : Rudraveena

Vanraj Bhatia

Honored for : Tamas

B. V. Karanth

Honored for : The Ritual

B. V. Karanth

Honored for : Rushya Shringa

Bhupen Hazarika

Honored for : Chameli Memsaab

S. Mohinder

Honored for : Nanak Naam Jahaz Hai

Kalyanji & Anandji

Honored for : Saraswatichandra

K. V. Mahadevan

Honored for : Kandan Karunai