Awards & Winners

National Film Award for Best Supporting Actor

National Film Awards

The National Film Award for Best Supporting Actor, officially known as the Rajat Kamal Award for the Best Supporting Actor, is an honour presented annually at the National Film Awards ceremony by the Directorate of Film Festivals, an organisation set up by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting. Awarded since 1984, the award is given to an actor who has given the best performance in a supporting role within the Indian cinema. A national panel appointed by the government selects the winning entry; the award ceremony is held in New Delhi where the President of India presents the award. The Directorate of Film Festivals instituted the "Best Supporting Actor" category in 1984 as the "Rajat Kamal Award for the Best Supporting Actor". It is one of the several awards presented for feature films and the winners are awarded with a "Rajat Kamal", certificate and a cash prize that amounted to 50,000 since the 54th National Film Awards while before the cash was 10,000. Throughout the years, accounting for ties and repeat winners, the Government of India has presented a total of 31 Best Supporting Actor awards to 28 different actors.
Date Established : 1984

Check all the winners of National Film Award for Best Supporting Actor presented under National Film Awards since 1987 .

Saurabh Shukla

Honored for : Jolly LLB

Annu Kapoor

Honored for : Vicky Donor


Honored for : Azhagarsamys Horse

Thambi Ramaiah

Honored for : Mynaa

Farooq Shaikh

Honored for : Lahore

Arjun Rampal

Honored for : Rock On!!

Darshan Jariwala

Honored for : Gandhi, My Father

Dilip Prabhavalkar

Honored for : Lage Raho Munna Bhai, Shevri

Naseeruddin Shah

Honored for : Iqbal

Haradhan Bannerjee

Honored for : Critical Encounter

Pankaj Kapoor

Honored for : Maqbool

V. Chandrasekhar

Honored for : Nanba Nanba

Atul Kulkarni

Honored for : Chandni Bar

Mithun Chakraborty

Honored for : Swami Vivekananda

Manoj Bajpai

Honored for : Satya

Prakash Raj

Honored for : The Duo

Nana Patekar

Honored for : Agni Sakshi

Mithun Chakraborty

Honored for : Swami Vivekananda
(Role: Ramakrishna)

Sunny Deol

Honored for : Damini

Ashish Vidyarthi

Honored for : Drohkaal
(Role: Commander Bhadra)


Honored for : Nammavar
(Role: Mr. Rao)

Pankaj Kapoor

Honored for : Raakh


Honored for : Hrithubhedam