Awards & Winners

Perkin Medal

Perkin Medal

The Perkin Medal is an award given annually by the American section of the Society of Chemical Industry to a scientist residing in America for an "innovation in applied chemistry resulting in outstanding commercial development." It is considered the highest honor given in the US industrial chemical industry. The Perkin Medal was first granted in 1906 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the discovery of mauveine, the world's first synthetic aniline dye, by Sir William Henry Perkin, an English chemist. The award was given to Sir William on the occasion of his famous visit to the United States in the year before he died. It was next given in 1908 and has been given every year since then.
Date Established : 1906

Check all the winners of Perkin Medal presented under Perkin Medal since 1906 .

Richard Bruce Silverman

(For his development of the drug Lyrica, which is used to treat epilepsy, neuropathic pain, and fibromyalgia.)

James C. Stevens

(In recognition of his contributions to the development of olefin polymerization catalysts, including the INSITE process.)

David R. Bryant

(In recognition of his accomplishments on a low pressure Oxo process for producing aldehydes.)

Paul B. Weisz

(Based on his contributions to the research and development of applied chemistry)

George Oenslager

(For his discovery of organic accelerators, specifically thiocarbanilide.)

John E. Teeple

(For his work on potash during World War I.)