Awards & Winners

Pritzker Architecture Prize

The Pritzker Architecture Prize is awarded annually to "honor a living architect whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture." Founded in 1979 by Jay A. Pritzker and his wife Cindy, the award is funded by the Pritzker family and sponsored by the Hyatt Foundation and is considered to be one of the world's premier architecture prizes; it is often referred to as the Nobel Prize of architecture. The prize is said to be awarded "irrespective of nationality, race, creed, or ideology." The recipients receive US$100,000, a citation certificate, and since 1987, a bronze medallion. The designs on the medal are inspired by the work of architect Louis Sullivan, while the Latin inspired inscription on the reverse of the medallion—firmitas, utilitas, venustas —is from Ancient Roman architect Vitruvius. Before 1987, a limited edition Henry Moore sculpture accompanied the monetary prize. The Executive Director of the prize, as of 2009, Martha Thorne, solicits nominations from a range of people, including past Laureates, academics, critics and others "with expertise and interest in the field of architecture". Any licensed architect can also make a personal application for the prize before 1 November every year. In 1988 Gordon Bunshaft nominated himself for the award and eventually won it. The jury, each year consisting of five to nine "experts ... recognized professionals in their own fields of architecture, business, education, publishing, and culture", deliberate early the following year before announcing the winner in spring. The present prize Chair is Lord Palumbo; earlier chairs were J. Carter Brown, and Lord Rothschild.

|   2014 Pritzker Architecture Prize  |   2013 Pritzker Architecture Prize  |   2012 Pritzker Architecture Prize  |
Pritzker Architecture Prize Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Pritzker Architecture Prize since 1979.

Pritzker Architecture Prize


Check all the winners of 2014 Pritzker Architecture Prize.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)