Awards & Winners

Profile in Courage Award

The Profile in Courage Award is a private award given to recognize displays of courage similar to those John F. Kennedy described in his book Profiles in Courage. It is given to individuals who, by acting in accord with their conscience, risked their careers or lives by pursuing a larger vision of the national, state or local interest in opposition to popular opinion or pressure from constituents or other local interests. The winners of the award are selected by a bi-partisan committee named by the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation, which includes members of the Kennedy family as well as other prominent Americans. It is generally awarded each year around the time of Kennedy's birthday at a ceremony at the Kennedy Library in Boston. The award is generally presented by Kennedy's daughter Caroline Kennedy. Also before his death Senator Edward Kennedy. Two recipients, John Lewis and William Winter, were designated as honorees for Lifetime Achievement. The winner is presented with a sterling silver lantern made by Tiffany's which was designed by Edwin Schlossberg. The lantern is patterned after the lanterns on USS Constitution, the last sail-powered ship to remain part of the US Navy, which is permanently moored nearby.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Profile in Courage Award since 1990.

Profile in Courage Award


Check all the winners of 2008 Profile in Courage Award.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
William Winter
(Lifetime Achievement Award)