Awards & Winners

Rutherford Medal

The Rutherford Medal is the premier award of the Royal Society of New Zealand, and has been awarded annually since 1991 in recognition of people who have made outstanding contributions to New Zealand society and culture in science, mathematics, social science, and technology. The medal is funded by the New Zealand government. It is named after Ernest Rutherford, the New Zealand experimental physicist and Nobel laureate who pioneered the orbital theory of the atom. The Royal Society of New Zealand has also awarded the Hector Memorial Medal since 1915.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Rutherford Medal since 1991.

Rutherford Medal


Check all the winners of 2012 Rutherford Medal.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Margaret Brimble
(For her world-leading contributions to the synthesis of bioactive natural products and novel peptides with wide applications across the life sciences industry.)