Awards & Winners

SFRA Pioneer Award

The Pioneer Award is given by the Science Fiction Research Association to the writer or writers of the best critical essay-length work of the year. Previous winners: 1990 - Veronica Hollinger, "The Vampire and the Alien: Variations on the Outsider" 1991 - H. Bruce Franklin, "The Vietnam War as American Science Fiction and Fantasy" 1992 - Istvan Csiscery-Ronay Jr., "The SF of Theory: Baudrillard and Haraway" 1993 - No Award 1994 - Larry McCaffery and Takayuki Tatsumi, "Towards the Theoretical Frontiers of Fiction: From Metafiction and Cyberpunk through Avant-Pop" 1995 - Roger Luckhurst, "The Many Deaths of Science Fiction: A Polemic" 1996 - Brian Stableford, "How Should a Science Fiction Story End?" 1997 - John Moore, "Shifting Frontiers: Cyberpunk and the American South" 1998 - I. F. Clarke, "Future—War Fiction: The First Main Phase, 1871-1900" 1999 - Carl Freedman, "Kubrick's 2001 and the Possibility of a Science-Fiction Cinema" 2000 - Wendy Pearson, "Alien Cryptographies: The View from Queer," published in the March 1999 issue of Science Fiction Studies. 2001 - De Witt Douglas Kilgore, "Changing Regimes: Vonda N. McIntyre's Parodic Astrofuturism," published in the July 2000 issue of Science Fiction Studies.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the SFRA Pioneer Award since 1990.

SFRA Pioneer Award


Check all the winners of 2009 SFRA Pioneer Award.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Neil Easterbrook
Honored for : Giving an Account of Oneself: Ethics, Alterity, Air