Awards & Winners

Sibert Medal

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal established by the Association for Library Service to Children in 2001 with support from Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc., is awarded annually to the writer and illustrator of the most distinguished informational book published in English during the preceding year. The award is named in honor of Robert F. Sibert, the long-time President of Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. of Jacksonville, Illinois. ALSC administers the award. "Informational books are defined as those written and illustrated to present, organize, and interpret documentable, factual material." Poetry and traditional literature such as folktales are not eligible but there is no other restriction. The book must be published originally or simultaneously in the United States and in English.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Sibert Medal since 2001.

Sibert Medal


Check all the winners of 2009 Sibert Medal.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Kadir Nelson
Honored for : We Are the Ship