Awards & Winners

Stirling Prize

Stirling Prize

The Royal Institute of British Architects Stirling Prize is a British prize for excellence in architecture. It is named after the architect James Stirling, organised and awarded annually by the Royal Institute of British Architects. The RIBA Stirling Prize is awarded to "the architects of the building which has made the greatest contribution to British architecture in the past year." The architects must be RIBA members, but the building can be anywhere in the European Union. Stirling Prize laureates receive a stipend of GB£20,000. The award was founded in 1996, and is considered to be the most prestigious architecture award in the United Kingdom. It is publicised as the architectural equivalent of the Booker Prize and Turner Prize. The presentation ceremony is televised by Channel 4 and the prize is sponsored by the Architects Journal. Six short-listed buildings are chosen from a long-list of buildings that have received a RIBA Award. These awards are given to buildings showing "high architectural standards and substantial contribution to the local environment". In 2003, 70 such buildings received RIBA Awards and so made the long-list. In addition to the RIBA Stirling Prize, seven other awards are given to buildings on the long-list. In 2003 they consisted of the Stephen Lawrence Prize, the RIBA Client of the Year, the RIBA Journal Sustainability Award, the Crown Estate Conservation Award, The Architects’ Journal First Building Award, and the ADAPT Trust Access Award.
Date Established : 1996

Check all the winners of Stirling Prize presented under Stirling Prize since 1996 .

Stanton Williams

Honored for : Sainsbury Laboratory Cambridge University

Zaha Hadid

Honored for : Evelyn Grace Academy

Zaha Hadid

Honored for : MAXXI \u2013 National Museum of the 21st Century Arts

Rogers Stirk Harbour & Partners

Honored for : Maggie's Centre, London

Nominations 2009 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Eric Parry Architects 5 Aldermanbury Square
Rogers Stirk Harbour & Partners Maggie's Centre, London
Rogers Stirk Harbour & Partners Bodegas Protos
Building Design Partnership Liverpool One Masterplan
Tony Fretton Architects Fuglsang Kunstmuseum
Allford Hall Monaghan Morris Kentish Town Health Centre

Alison Brooks Architects, Maccreanor Lavington, Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios

Honored for : Accordia housing development, Cambridge

David Chipperfield Architects

Honored for : Museum of Modern Literature

Richard Rogers Partnership

Honored for : Terminal 4, Barajas Airport, Madrid

RMJM, Enric Miralles

Honored for : Scottish Parliament Building

Foster and Partners

Honored for : 30 St Mary Axe

Herzog and de Meuron

Honored for : Laban Dance Centre

Gifford, Wilkinson Eyre Architects

Honored for : Gateshead Millennium Bridge

Wilkinson Eyre Architects

Honored for : Magna Science Adventure Centre

Alsop & Stormer

Honored for : Peckham Library

Future Systems

Honored for : Lord's Media Centre

Jan Kaplický

Honored for : Lord's Media Centre

Foster and Partners

Honored for : American Air Museum, Imperial War Museum Duxford

Michael Wilford

Honored for : Music School, Stuttgart

Stephen Hodder

Honored for : Centenary Building, University of Salford