Awards & Winners

Stonewall Book Award

Stonewall Book Award

The Stonewall Book Award are a set of three literary awards that annually recognize "exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience" in English-language books published in the U.S. They are sponsored by the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table of the American Library Association and have been part of the American Library Association awards program, now termed ALA Book, Print & Media Awards, since 1986 as the single Gay Book Award. The three award categories are fiction and nonfiction in books for adults, distinguished in 1990, and books for children or young adults, from 2010. The awards are named for Barbara Gittings, Israel Fishman, and Mike Morgan and Larry Romans. In full they are the Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award, the Stonewall Book Award-Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award, and the Stonewall Book Awards – Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children's & Young Adult Literature Award. Finalists or have been designated from 1990, termed "Honor Books" from 2001. Currently a panel of librarians selects five finalists in each award category and subsequently selects one winner. The winners are announced in January and each receives a plaque and $1000 cash prize during the ALA Annual Conference in June or July. Winners are expected to attend and to give acceptance speeches.
Date Established : 1971
Date Discontinued : 1989

Check all the winners of Stonewall Book Award presented under Stonewall Book Award since 1971 .

Nick Burd

Honored for : The Vast Fields of Ordinary

Alan Hollinghurst

Honored for : The Swimming Pool Library

Sarah Schulman

Honored for : After Delores

Joan Nestle

Honored for : A Restricted Country

Randy Shilts

Honored for : And the Band Played On

Walter Williams

Honored for : The Spirit and the Flesh: Sexual Diversity in American Indian Culture

Cindy Patton

Honored for : Sex and Germs

Judy Grahn

Honored for : Another Mother Tongue

John D'Emilio

Honored for : Sexual Politics, Sexual Communities

Lillian Faderman

Honored for : Surpassing the Love of Men

J. R. Roberts

Honored for : Black Lesbians: An Annotated Bibliography

Vito Russo

Honored for : The Celluloid Closet

John Boswell

Honored for : Christianity, Social Tolerance and Homosexuality

Winston Leyland

Honored for : Now the Volcano

Betty Fairchild, Nancy Hayward

Honored for : Now That You Know

Ginny Vida

Honored for : Our Right to Love: A Lesbian Resource Book

Howard Junior Brown

Honored for : Familiar Faces, Hidden Lives

Jonathan David Katz

Honored for : Homosexuality: Lesbians and Gay Men in Society, History, and Literature

Jeannette Howard Foster

Honored for : Sex Variant Women in Literature: A Historical and Quantitative Survey

Peter Fisher

Honored for : The Gay Mystique

Del Martin, Phyllis Lyon

Honored for : Lesbian/Woman

Alma Routsong

Honored for : Patience and Sarah