Awards & Winners

CWA New Blood Dagger

The Crime Writer's Association Dagger Awards

The CWA New Blood Dagger is an annual award given by the British Crime Writers' Association for first books by previously unpublished writers. It is given in memory of CWA founder John Creasey and was previously known as The John Creasey Memorial Award.Publisher Chivers Press was the sponsor from the award's introduction in 1973 to 2002. BBC Audiobooks was the sponsor since 2003.
Date Established : 1973

Check all the winners of CWA New Blood Dagger presented under The Crime Writer's Association Dagger Awards since 1973 .

Ryan David Jahn

Honored for : Acts of Violence

Nominations 2010 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Diane Janes The Pull of the Moon
Simon Lelic Rupture
William Ryan The Holy Thief
Ryan David Jahn Acts of Violence
Leigh Russell Cut Short
Rory Clements Martyr: An Elizabethan Thriller
Craig Robertson Random
Richard Jay Parker Stop Me

Johan Theorin

Honored for : Echoes from the Dead

Nominations 2009 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Johan Theorin Echoes from the Dead
David Fuller Sweetsmoke
James Green Bad Catholics
Rod Madocks No Way To Say Goodbye
Robert Rotenberg Old City Hall
Dan Waddell The Blood Detective

Matt Rees

Honored for : The Bethlehem Murders

Nominations 2008 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Matt Rees The Bethlehem Murders
Zoe Ferraris The Night of the the Mi\u2019raj
Elena Forbes Die with Me
Caro Ramsay Absolution: A Novel of Suspense
Tom Rob Smith Child 44

Gillian Flynn

Honored for : Sharp Objects

Nominations 2007 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Gillian Flynn Sharp Objects
C.J. Emerson Objects of Desire
Declan Hughes The Wrong Kind of Blood: An Irish Novel of Betrayal
Brian McGilloway Borderlands
Andrew Pepper The Last Days of Newgate
Camilla Way The Dead of Summer

Louise Penny

Honored for : Still Life

Nominations 2006 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Louise Penny Still Life
Brian Freeman Immoral
Kitty Sewell Ice Trap: A Novel of Suspense

Dreda Say Mitchell

Honored for : Running Hot

Nominations 2005 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Dreda Say Mitchell Running Hot
Clare Clark The Great Stink
David McKeowen Grip
Richard Kunzmann Bloody Harvests

Mark Mills

Honored for : Amagansett

Nominations 2004 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Mark Mills Amagansett
Denise Hamilton The Jasmine Trade: A Novel of Suspense Introducing Eve Diamond
Catherine Shaw The Three Body Problem: A Cambridge Mystery
Stav Sherez The Devil's Playground

William Landay

Honored for : Mission Flats

Nominations 2003 »

Nominee Nominated Work
William Landay Mission Flats
Roderic Duncan Backlash
C. J. Sansom Dissolution

Louise Welsh

Honored for : The Cutting Room

Nominations 2002 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Louise Welsh The Cutting Room
David Benioff The 25th Hour
Stephen L. Carter The Emperor of Ocean Park
Alan Glynn The Dark Fields
Jim Kelly The Water Clock

Susanna Jones

Honored for : The Earthquake Bird

Nominations 2001 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Susanna Jones The Earthquake Bird
John Fusco Paradise Salvage
Scott Phillips The Ice Harvest
Karin Slaughter Blindsighted
Elizabeth Woodcraft Good Bad Woman

Boston Teran

Honored for : God is a Bullet

Dan Fesperman

Honored for : Lie in the Dark

Denise Mina

Honored for : Garnethill

Paul Johnston

Honored for : Body Politic

Janet Evanovich

Honored for : One for the Money

Doug J. Swanson

Honored for : Big Town

Minette Walters

Honored for : The Ice House

Walter Mosley

Honored for : Devil in a Blue Dress

Patricia Cornwell

Honored for : Postmortem

Annette Roome

Honored for : A Real Shot in the Arm

Janet Neel Cohen

Honored for : Death's Bright Angel

Denis Kilcommons

Honored for : The Dark Apostle

Neville Steed

Honored for : Tinplate

Robert Richardson

Honored for : The Latimer Mercy

Elizabeth Ironside

Honored for : A Very Private Enterprise

Carol Clemeau

Honored for : The Ariadne Clue

Eric Wright

Honored for : The Night the Gods Smiled

Andrew Taylor

Honored for : Caroline Minuscule

James Leigh

Honored for : The Ludi Victor

Liza Cody

Honored for : Dupe

David Serafi?n

Honored for : Saturday of Glory

Paula Gosling

Honored for : A Running Duck

John Grant

Honored for : The Judas Pair

Patrick Alexander

Honored for : Death of a Thin-Skinned Animal

Sara George

Honored for : Acid Drop

Roger L. Simon

Honored for : The Big Fix

Kyril Bonfiglioli

Honored for : Don't Point That Thing at Me