Awards & Winners

The Kingsley and Kate Tufts Poetry Awards

The Kingsley and Kate Tufts Poetry Awards

The Kingsley and Kate Tufts Poetry Awards are a pair of American prizes based at Claremont Graduate University. They are given to poets for their collections of poetry written in the English language, by a citizen or legal resident alien of the United States. The Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award is a $100,000 prize presented to a mid-career, emerging poet who already possesses an established body of work. The Kingsley Tufts award is known to be one of the world's most lucrative poetry prizes. Its counterpart, the Kate Tufts Discovery Award, is given to a poet who demonstrates genuine promise in their first book of published poetry, with an attached purse of $10,000.
Date Established : 1994

Check all the winners of The Kingsley and Kate Tufts Poetry Awards presented under The Kingsley and Kate Tufts Poetry Awards since 1994 .

Beth Bachmann

Honored for : Temper

Matthew Dickman

Honored for : All-American Poem

Janice N. Harrington

Honored for : Even the Hollow My Body Made is Gone

Eric McHenry

Honored for : Potscrubber Lullabies

Christian Hawkey

Honored for : The Book of Funnels

Patrick Phillips

Honored for : Chattahoochee

Adrian Blevins

Honored for : The Brass Girl Brouhaha

Joanie Mackowski

Honored for : The Zoo

Cate Marvin

Honored for : World's Tallest Disaster

Jennifer Clarvoe

Honored for : Invisible Tender

Terrance Hayes

Honored for : Muscular Music

Barbara Ras

Honored for : Bite Every Sorrow

Charles Harper Webb

Honored for : Reading the water

Lucia Perillo

Honored for : The Body Mutinies

Barbara Hamby

Honored for : Delirium

Doug Anderson

Honored for : The Moon Reflected Fire

Catherine Bowman

Honored for : 1-800-Hot-Ribs