Awards & Winners

Turing Award

The ACM A.M. Turing Award is an annual prize given by the Association for Computing Machinery to "an individual selected for contributions of a technical nature made to the computing community". It is stipulated that "The contributions should be of lasting and major technical importance to the computer field". The Turing Award is recognized as the "highest distinction in Computer science" and "Nobel Prize of computing". The award is named after Alan Turing, mathematician and reader in mathematics at the University of Manchester. Turing is "frequently credited for being the Father of theoretical computer science and artificial intelligence". As of 2007, the award is accompanied by a prize of $250,000, with financial support provided by Intel and Google. The first recipient, in 1966, was Alan Perlis, of Carnegie Mellon University. Frances E. Allen of IBM, in 2006, was the first female recipient in the award's forty year history. The 2008 and 2012 awards also went to women, Barbara Liskov and Shafi Goldwasser, respectively.

|   2014 ACM\u2019s Awards Banquet  |
Turing Award Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Turing Award since 1966.

Turing Award


Check all the winners of 2013 Turing Award.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Leslie Lamport
(For fundamental contributions to the theory and practice of distributed and concurrent systems, notably the invention of concepts such as causality and logical clocks, safety and liveness, replicated state machines, and sequential consistency.)