Maths Awards

Check awards and winners from Maths stream.
Check awards, nominations and winners for Abel Prize, Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize, Cole Prize, Fields Medal, Geometry prize and more.
Abel Prize
Alfréd Rényi Prize
Anna and Lajos Erdős Prize in Mathematics
Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize
Chauvenet Prize
Chern Medal
Cole Prize
De Morgan Medal
Fields Medal
Geometry prize
Knuth Prize
Nevanlinna Prize
Salem Prize
Stampacchia Medal
The Abel Prize is an international prize presented by the King of Norway to one or more outstanding mathematicians. Named after Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel (1802–1829), the award was established in 2001 by the Government of Norway and complements the Holberg Prize in the humanities, social sciences, law and theology.
The Alfréd Rényi Prize is awarded biannually by the Alfréd Rényi Institute of Mathematics of the Hungarian Academy of Science in honor of founder Alfréd Rényi. By the current rules it is given to one or two fellows of the Institute in recognition of their outstanding performance in mathematics research of the previous five-year period.
The Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize for Applications of Mathematics is a mathematics award, granted jointly by the International Mathematical Union and the German Mathematical Society for outstanding mathematical contributions that have found significant applications outside of mathematics. The award receives its name from the German mathematician Carl Friedrich Gauss.
The Chauvenet Prize is the highest award for mathematical expository writing. It consists of a prize of $1,000 and a certificate, and is awarded yearly by the Mathematical Association of America in recognition of an outstanding expository article on a mathematical topic. The prize is named in honor of William Chauvenet and was established through a gift from J. L. Coolidge in 1925.
The Chern Medal is an international award recognizing outstanding lifelong achievement of the highest level in the field of mathematics. The prize is given at the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM), which is held every four years.
The Frank Nelson Cole Prize, or Cole Prize for short, is one of two prizes awarded to mathematicians by the American Mathematical Society, one for an outstanding contribution to algebra, and the other for an outstanding contribution to number theory.
The De Morgan Medal is a prize for outstanding contribution to mathematics, awarded by the London Mathematical Society. The medal is awarded every third year to a mathematician who is normally resident in the United Kingdom on 1 January of the relevant year. The only grounds for the award of the medal are the candidate's contributions to mathematics.
The Fields Medal, officially known as International Medal for Outstanding Discoveries in Mathematics, is a prize awarded to two, three, or four mathematicians not over 40 years of age at each International Congress of the International Mathematical Union (IMU), a meeting that takes place every four years.
The Geometry prize is a mathematics award granted by the Mathematical Society of Japan for the recognition of significant or long-time research works in the field of geometry, including differential geometry, topology, and algebraic geometry.
The Donald E. Knuth Prize is a prize for outstanding contributions to the foundations of computer science, named after Donald E. Knuth.The Knuth Prize is awarded since 1996 and includes an award of $5000.
The Rolf Nevanlinna Prize is awarded once every 4 years at the International Congress of Mathematicians, for outstanding contributions in Mathematical Aspects of Information Sciences including
The Salem Prize, founded by the widow of Raphael Salem, is awarded every year to a young mathematician judged to have done outstanding work in Salem's field of interest, primarily the theory of Fourier series. The prize is considered highly prestigious and many of the recipients of Salem prize have also been awarded the Fields Medal later in their career.
The Stampacchia Gold Medal is an international prize awarded every three years by the Italian Mathematical Union (Unione Matematica Italiana) together with the Ettore Majorana Foundation (Erice), in recognition of outstanding contributions to the field of Calculus of Variations and related applications