Awards & Winners

News from Awards and Winners

The 19th Annual Panasonic Gobel Awards : Winners Announced


The 19th Annual Panasonic Gobel Awards honoring the favorite in Indonesian television programming/production work/individual, was held on October 14, 2016, at the XXI Ballroom, Jakarta Theater in Tanah Abang, Central Jakarta. This year edition of ceremonies awards was themed for “Kebanggaan Indonesia”. Omesh, Ayu Dewi and Irfan Hakim have been hosting for this year edition of ceremony awards

Shoemaker Won WSFA Small Press Award


The winner of the 2016 Washington Science Fiction Association (WSFA) Small Press Award is chosen by the members of the Washington Science Fiction Association and presented at their annual convention, Capclave, held this year on October 9-11th in Gaithersburg, Maryland at the Hilton Washington DC North. The 2016 WSFA Small Press Award was presented by Steve Stiles.
The winner of the 2016 WSFA Small Press Award was Today I Am Paul by Martin L. Shoemaker, published in Clarkesworld Magazine, edited by Neil Clarke and Sean Wallace (August 2015). The award was accepted by Neil Clarke, on behalf of Martin Shoemaker.

McDonald Won Gaylactic Spectrum Awards

Logo of the Gaylactic Spectrum Award Foundation

The winner for the 2016 Gaylactic Spectrum Award in Best Novel category was announced at Gaylaxicon 2016, held October 7-9, 2016 in Minneapolis MN, at the DoubleTree Hotel Minneapolis-Park Place.
The Gaylactic Spectrum Awards honors outstanding works of science fiction, fantasy and horror that explore LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender) characters, themes, or issues in a positive way.

Silvia Moreno-Garcia and Leah Bobet won Copper Cylinder Award


The Copper Cylinder Awards celebrate “the best in Canadian fantastic literature published during the previous calendar year,” and are selected by members of the Sunburst Award Society. In the Adult category‚ Silvia Moreno-Garcia was selected for her debut novel, Signal to Noise (Solaris Books)‚ which follows a teenage girl who discovers how to cast spells using her record collection.

The Young Adult award went to Leah Bobet for An Inheritance of Ashes (Scholastic Canada)‚ the story of two sisters left in charge of their family farm during a dystopian future where humans are at war with a wicked god.

Winners of the British Fantasy Awards 2016 were Announced


The British Fantasy Society announced the British Fantasy Awards Winners on September 25, 2016 during an awards ceremony at FantasyCon 2016 at the Grand and Royal Hotels in Scarborough, England. Winners were chosen by jury, except for the special award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award) which is chosen by the BFS committee.

Winners of 2016 David Gemmell Awards were Announced

The Gemmell Award

The winners of the 2016 Gemmell Awards have been announced. The presentation ceremony for this year’s Gemmell Awards took place on Saturday 24th September as part of Fantasycon held at the Grand Hotel and the Royal in Scarborough UK.

The Winners of the 2016 International Ibsen Award


The International Ibsen Award, the world’s leading theatre award, is awarded to individuals or institutions that have made a significant contribution to the development of theatre as an art form. The British theatre group Forced Entertainment is the winner of the 2016 International Ibsen Award. The winner receives NOK 2.5 million which is financed by the Norwegian state through the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

List of the 2016 Ig Nobel Prize Winners


The 2016 Ig Nobel Prizes were awarded on Thursday night, September 22, 2016 at the 26th First Annual Ig Nobel Prize Ceremony, at Sanders Theatre, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA.
The 2016 Ig Nobel Prize recognizes scientific research that makes you laugh, but then makes you think. While possibly less prestigious than the Nobel Prize, winners can take satisfaction in knowing their hard work raises interest in science around the world. The theme of the 26th First Annual Ig Nobel Prize Ceremony was “Time”.

Private Eye Writers of America – 2016 Shamus Awards Winners


The winners for the 2016 Shamus Awards for private eye novels and short stories first published in the United States in 2015 were announced Friday, 16th September 2016 at the PWA Banquet at the Pere Marquette Hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. The Eye Award is given for Lifetime Achievement. The Hammer Award is given for Best P.I. Series Character.

Leah Bobet and Gemma Files won 2016 Sunburst Awards

Sunburst Medallion

The Sunburst Award Society Announced The Winners Of The 2016 Sunburst Awards For Excellence In Canadian Literature Of The Fantastic in Adult, Young Adult, and Short Story categories.
Winners of the Adult and Young Adult Award receive a cash prize of $1,000. Winners of the Short Story Award receive a cash prize of $500.00. All winners also receive the distinctive Sunburst Medallion, which incorporates the Sunburst logo. The jurors for the 2016 Sunburst award were Timothy Anderson, Sylvie Bérard, Virginia O’Dine, Dale Sproule, and Myna Wallin.

Awards & Winners © 2014