Awards & Winners

Ashvin Kumar

Date of Birth 1973
Place of Birth Kolkata
(India, West Bengal, Kolkata district)
Nationality India
Also know as One to Watch
Profession Film Editor, Screenwriter, Film Producer, Film Director
Ashvin Kumar is an independent Indian filmmaker, who has written, directed and produced a wide range of films, including the documentaries Inshallah, Kashmir and Inshallah, Football; feature-length ecological thriller The Forest; award-winning short film Little Terrorist; the yet unreleased coming-of-age tale Dazed in Doon and his debut film Road to Ladakh starring Irrfan Khan. In 2005, he became the youngest Indian writer/director with an Academy Award Oscar® nomination, Ashvin is also the first Indian to be nominated at the European Film Academy with his film Little Terrorist which has been part of official selections to over 130 film festivals, winning awards in 25 of them, including the British Academy of Film and Television LA. At present Ashvin is developing a film called Hype, a hedonistic clash of youthful aspirations with society, culture seeped in tradition: a view of urban middle-classes of New Delhi, contemporary India in a critical time of its globalization. He is also writing a low-budget feature-film about Kashmir: ‘Noor', a story of a ten-year old girl whose journey to find her ‘disappeared’ father results in her finding Kashmir. In addition, a storytelling project for ‘Kids in Conflict’, whose aim is to teach screenwriting and film-making to kids who have to live in war-zones, an attempt to humanise and understand the internal-wars raging in democratic India today.

Awards by Ashvin Kumar

Check all the awards nominated and won by Ashvin Kumar.


National Film Award for Best Investigative Film
Honored for : Inshallah, Kashmir


National Film Award for Best Film on Social Issues
Honored for : Inshallah, Football


Nominations 2005 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
European Film Academy Prix UIP Award Little Terrorist


Nominations 2004 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Academy Award for Best Short Film (Live Action) Little Terrorist