Awards & Winners

Louise Welsh

Date of Birth 01-February-1965
Place of Birth London
(England, United Kingdom, Great Britain)
Nationality Scotland
Profession Writer, Author
Louise Welsh is an author of short stories and psychological thrillers. She is based in Glasgow, Scotland. Welsh studied History at Glasgow University and traded in second-hand books for several years before publishing her first novel. Louise Welsh's debut novel The Cutting Room was nominated for several literary awards including the 2003 Orange Prize for Fiction. It won the Crime Writers' Association Creasey Dagger for the best first crime novel. Welsh's second major work, the novella Tamburlaine Must Die, fictionally recounts the last few days in the life of 16th-century English dramatist and poet Christopher Marlowe, author of Tamburlaine the Great. Her third novel, The Bullet Trick, is set in Berlin, London and Glasgow and narrated from the perspective of magician and conjurer William Wilson. Her fourth novel, Naming the Bones, was published by Canongate Books in March 2010. Her fifth novel, The Girl on the Stairs is a psychological thriller set in Berlin, and was released in August 2012 by Hodder & Stoughton. Her sixth novel, A Lovely Way to Burn will be released in March 2014 by Hodder & Stoughton. In 2009, she donated the short story "The Night Highway" to Oxfam's Ox-Tales project, four collections of UK stories written by 38 authors. Her story was published in the 'Air' collection.

Awards by Louise Welsh

Check all the awards nominated and won by Louise Welsh.


Nominations 2004 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award The Cutting Room


CWA New Blood Dagger
Honored for : The Cutting Room

Nominations 2002 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
CWA New Blood Dagger The Cutting Room