Edgar Award for Best Critical/Biographical

Check all the winners of Edgar Award for Best Critical/Biographical.
Year Winner Winner Work
2014 Erik Dussere America Is Elsewhere: The Noir Tradition in the Age of Consumer Culture
2013 James O'Brien The Scientific Sherlock Holmes: Cracking the Case with Science and Forensics
(Oxford University Press)
2012 Michael Dirda On Conan Doyle: Or, the Whole Art of Storytelling
2011 Yunte Huang Charlie Chan: The Untold Story of the Honorable Detective and this Rendezvous with American History
2010 Otto Penzler The Line Up: The World's Greatest Crime Writers Tell the Inside Story of Their Greatest Detectives
2009 Harry Lee Poe Edgar Allan Poe: An Illustrated Companion to His Tell-Tale Stories
2008 Daniel Stashower Arthur Conan Doyle: A Life in Letters
Jon Lellenberg Arthur Conan Doyle: A Life in Letters
Charles Foley Arthur Conan Doyle: A Life in Letters
2007 E.J. Wagner The Science of Sherlock Holmes: From Baskerville Hall to the Valley of Fear
2006 Melanie Rehak Girl Sleuth: Nancy Drew and the Women Who Created Her
(Harcourt, Inc.)
2005 Leslie S. Klinger The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Short Stories
2004 Andrew Wilson Beautiful Shadow: A Life of Patricia Highsmith
2003 Mike Ashley The Mammoth Encyclopedia of Modern Crime Fiction: The Authors, Their Works and Their Most Famous Creations
2002 Dawn B. Sova Edgar Allan Poe, A to Z
2001 Ethan Lewis Conundrums for the Long Week-End
Robert Kuhn McGregor Conundrums for the Long Week-End
2000 Daniel Stashower Teller of Tales: The Life of Arthur Conan Doyle
1999 Robin Winks Mystery and Suspense Writers
Maureen Corrigan Mystery and Suspense Writers
1998 Natalie Kaufman G Is for Grafton: The World of Kinsey Millhone
Carol McGinnis Kay G Is for Grafton: The World of Kinsey Millhone
1997 Michael Atkinson The Secret Marriage of Sherlock Holmes
1996 Robert Polito Savage Art
1995 William L. DeAndrea Encyclopedia Mysteriosa
1994 Burl Barer The Saint: A Complete History
1993 John Loughery Alias S. S. Van Dine
1992 Kenneth Silverman Edgar A Poe: Mournful and Never-ending Remembrance
1991 John Conquest Trouble is their Business
1990 Norman Sherry The Life of Graham Greene: Volume One 1904-1939
1989 Francis M. Nevins, Jr. Cornell Woolrich: First You Dream, Then You Die
1988 LeRoy Panek An Introduction to the Detective Story
1987 Eric Ambler Here Lies
1986 Peter Lewis John Le Carre
1985 Jon L. Breen Novel Verdicts
1984 Donald Spoto The Dark Side of Genius
1983 Roy Hoopes Cain
1982 Jon L. Breen What About Murder? A Guide to Books About Mystery and Detective Fiction
1981 John M. Reilly Twentieth Century Crime and Mystery Writers
1980 Ralph E. Hone Dorothy L. Sayers, A Literary Biography
1979 Gwen Robyns The Mystery of Agatha Christie
1978 John J. McAleer Rex Stout
1977 Marvin Lachman Encyclopedia of Mystery and Detection
Otto Penzler Encyclopedia of Mystery and Detection
Chris Steinbrunner Encyclopedia of Mystery and Detection
Charles Shibuk Encyclopedia of Mystery and Detection