National Book Award for Nonfiction

Check all the winners of National Book Award for Nonfiction.
Year Winner Winner Work
2013 George Packer The Unwinding: An Inner History of the New America
2012 Katherine Boo Behind the Beautiful Forevers
2011 Stephen Greenblatt The Swerve: How the World Became Modern
2010 Patti Smith Just Kids
2009 T.J. Stiles The First Tycoon: The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt
2008 Annette Gordon-Reed The Hemingses of Monticello: An American Family
2007 Tim Weiner Legacy of Ashes: The History of the CIA
2006 Timothy Egan The Worst Hard Time: The Untold Story of Those Who Survived the Great American Dust Bowl
2005 Joan Didion The Year of Magical Thinking
2004 Kevin Boyle Arc of Justice: A Saga of Race, Civil Rights, and Murder in the Jazz Age
2003 Carlos Eire Waiting for Snow in Havana
2002 Robert Caro Master of the Senate: The Years of Lyndon Johnson
2001 Andrew Solomon The Noonday Demon: An Atlas of Depression
2000 Nathaniel Philbrick In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex
1999 John W. Dower Embracing Defeat: Japan in the Wake of World War II
1998 Edward Ball Slaves in the Family
1997 Joseph J. Ellis American Sphinx: The Character of Thomas Jefferson
1996 James P. Carroll An American Requiem: God, My Father, and the War that Came Between Us
1995 Tina Rosenberg The Haunted Land: Facing Europe's Ghosts After Communism
1994 Sherwin B. Nuland How We Die: Reflections on Life's Final Chapter
1993 Gore Vidal United States: Essays 1952-1992
1992 Paul Monette Becoming a Man: Half a Life Story
1991 Orlando Patterson Freedom
1990 Ron Chernow The House of Morgan: An American Banking Dynasty and the Rise of Modern Finance
1989 Thomas L. Friedman From Beirut to Jerusalem
1988 Neil Sheehan A Bright Shining Lie: John Paul Vann and America in Vietnam
1987 Richard Rhodes The Making of the Atomic Bomb
1986 Barry Lopez Arctic Dreams
1985 J. Anthony Lukas Common Ground
1984 Robert V. Remini Andrew Jackson & the Course of American Democracy, 1833-1845
1963 Leon Edel Henry James, Vol. II: The Conquest of London, Henry James, Vol. III: The Middle Years
1962 Lewis Mumford The City in History
1961 William L. Shirer The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich
1960 Richard Ellmann James Joyce
1959 J. Christopher Herold Mistress to an Age: A Life of Madame De Stael
1958 Catherine Drinker Bowen The Lion and the Throne
1957 George F. Kennan Russia Leaves the War
1956 Herbert Kubly An American in Italy
1955 Joseph Wood Krutch The Measure of Man
1954 Bruce Catton A Stillness at Appomattox
1953 Bernard DeVoto The Course of Empire
1952 Rachel Carson The Sea Around Us
1951 Newton Arvin Herman Melville
1950 Ralph L. Rusk Ralph Waldo Emerson
1940 Hans Zinsser As I Remember Him, the Biography of R. S
1939 Antoine de Saint-Exupéry Wind, Sand and Stars
1938 Anne Morrow Lindbergh Listen! the Wind
1937 Ève Curie Madame Curie
1936 Van Wyck Brooks The Flowering of New England, 1815-1865
1935 Anne Morrow Lindbergh North to the Orient