Pulitzer Prize for General Non-Fiction

Check all the winners of Pulitzer Prize for General Non-Fiction.
Year Winner Winner Work
2014 Dan Fagin Toms River: A Story of Science and Salvation
2013 Gilbert King Devil in the Grove: Thurgood Marshall, the Groveland Boys, and the Dawn of a New America
2012 Stephen Greenblatt The Swerve: How the World Became Modern
2011 Siddhartha Mukherjee The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer
(An elegant inquiry, at once clinical and personal, into the long history of an insidious disease that, despite treatment breakthroughs, still bedevils medical science.)
2010 David E. Hoffman The Dead Hand
(A well documented narrative that examines the terrifying doomsday competition between two superpowers and how weapons of mass destruction still imperil humankind.)
2009 Douglas A. Blackmon Slavery by Another Name: The Re-Enslavement of Black Americans from the Civil War to World War II
(A precise and eloquent work that examines a deliberate system of racial suppression and that rescues a multitude of atrocities from virtual obscurity.)
2008 Saul Friedländer The Years of Extermination: Nazi Germany and the Jews, 1939-1945
2007 Lawrence Wright The Looming Tower: Al Qaeda and the Road to 9/11
2006 Caroline Elkins Imperial Reckoning
2005 Steve Coll Ghost Wars
2004 Anne Applebaum Gulag: A History
2003 Samantha Power A Problem from Hell: America and the Age of Genocide
2002 Diane McWhorter Carry Me Home: Birmingham, Alabama, the Climactic Battle of the Civil Rights Revolution
2001 Herbert P. Bix Hirohito and the Making of Modern Japan
2000 John W. Dower Embracing Defeat: Japan in the Wake of World War II
1999 John McPhee Annals of the Former World
1998 Jared Diamond Guns, Germs, and Steel
1997 Richard Kluger Ashes to Ashes: America's Hundred-Year Cigarette War, the Public Health, and the Unabashed Triumph of Philip Morris
1996 Tina Rosenberg The Haunted Land: Facing Europe's Ghosts After Communism
1995 Jonathan Weiner The Beak of the Finch: A Story of Evolution in Our Time
1994 David Remnick Lenin's Tomb: The Last Days of the Soviet Empire
1993 Garry Wills Lincoln at Gettysburg: The Words That Remade America
1992 Daniel Yergin The Prize: The Epic Quest for Oil, Money, and Power
1991 Bert Hölldobler The Ants
E. O. Wilson The Ants
1990 Dale Maharidge And Their Children After Them
Michael Williamson And Their Children After Them
1989 Neil Sheehan A Bright Shining Lie: John Paul Vann and America in Vietnam
1988 Richard Rhodes The Making of the Atomic Bomb
1987 David K. Shipler Arab and Jew: Wounded Spirits in a Promised Land
1986 J. Anthony Lukas Common Ground
1986 Joseph Lelyveld Move Your Shadow: South Africa, Black and White
1985 Studs Terkel The Good War
1984 Paul Starr The Social Transformation of American Medicine: The Rise of a Sovereign Profession and the Making of a Vast Industry
1983 Susan Sheehan Is There No Place on Earth for Me?
1982 Tracy Kidder The Soul of a New Machine
1981 Carl Emil Schorske Fin-de-Siècle Vienna
1980 Douglas Hofstadter Gödel, Escher, Bach: an Eternal Golden Braid
1979 E. O. Wilson On Human Nature
1978 Carl Sagan The Dragons of Eden
1977 William W. Warner Beautiful Swimmers
1976 Robert Neil Butler Why Survive? Being Old In America
1975 Annie Dillard Pilgrim at Tinker Creek
1974 Ernest Becker The Denial of Death
1973 Frances FitzGerald Fire in the Lake
1973 Robert Coles Children of Crisis
1972 Barbara W. Tuchman Stilwell and the American Experience in China, 1911-45
1971 John Toland The Rising Sun
1970 Erik Erikson Gandhi's Truth: On the Origins of Militant Nonviolence
1969 René Dubos So Human an Animal
1969 Norman Mailer Armies of the Night
1968 Will Durant The Story of Civilization
Ariel Durant The Story of Civilization
1967 David Brion Davis The Problem of Slavery in Western Culture
1966 Edwin Way Teale Wandering Through Winter
1965 Howard Mumford Jones O Strange New World
1964 Richard Hofstadter Anti-intellectualism in American Life
1963 Barbara W. Tuchman The Guns of August
1962 Theodore White The Making of the President, 1960