Awards & Winners

Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards

The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards are American literary awards dedicated to honoring written works that make important contributions to the understanding of racism and the appreciation of the rich diversity of human culture. Established in 1935 by Cleveland poet and philanthropist Edith Anisfield Wolf and originally administered by the Saturday Review, the awards have been administered by the Cleveland Foundation since 1963. Three or four book awards, and sometimes a lifetime achievement award, are given out each year. Notable past winners include Zora Neale Hurston, Langston Hughes, Martin Luther King, Jr., Maxine Hong Kingston, Wole Soyinka, Nadine Gordimer, Toni Morrison, Ralph Ellison, Edward Said, and Derek Walcott.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards since 1936.

Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards


Check all the winners of 2010 Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Elizabeth Alexander
(Lifetime Achievement in Poetry)
Kamila Shamsie
Honored for : Burnt Shadows
William Julius Wilson
(Lifetime Achievement in Nonfiction)