Awards & Winners

Bambi Award

The Bambi, often simply called Bambi Awards and stylised as BAMBI, are presented annually by Hubert Burda Media to recognise excellence in international media and television "with vision and creativity who affected and inspired the German public that year," both domestic and foreign. First held in 1948, they are the oldest media awards in Germany. The award is named after Felix Salten's book Bambi, A Life in the Woods and its statuettes are in the shape of the novel's titular fawn character. They were originally made of porcelain, until 1958 when the organizers switched to using gold, with the casting done by the art casting workshop of Ernst Strassacker in Süßen. Marika Rökk and Jean Marais were the first recipients of the award. Frequent awardees include Heinz Rühmann, Peter Alexander and O. W. Fischer, Sophia Loren, Maria Schell. Rock Hudson, Franz Beckenbauer, Pierre Brice and Céline Dion. The awards are judged by Hubert Burda and the editors-in-chief at Hubert Burda Media. In 2002 Michael Jackson won the Pop Artist of the Millennium Award. Award recipients in 2009 included Colombian singer/songwriter and choreographer Shakira, actress Kate Winslet, Austrian actor Christoph Waltz, and Giorgio Armani, whose niece Roberta Armani accepted the award for him. Shakira performed her single "Did It Again" before accepting her award.

|   Bambi Awards 2008  |
Bambi Award Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Bambi Award since 1970.

Bambi Award


Check all the winners of 2012 Bambi Award.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)