Awards & Winners

Bancroft Prize

The Bancroft Prize is awarded each year by the trustees of Columbia University for books about diplomacy or the history of the Americas. It was established in 1948 by a bequest from Frederic Bancroft. The prize has been generally considered to be among the most prestigious awards in the field of American history writing and comes with a $10,000 stipend. Seventeen winners had their work supported by the National Endowment for the Humanities, and 16 winners were also recipients of the Pulitzer Prize for History. The prize was affected by the post-award controversy involving the scholarship of Michael A. Bellesiles, who received the prize for his work in 2001. Following independent investigations, Columbia University rescinded the prize for the first time.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Bancroft Prize since 1948.

Bancroft Prize


Check all the winners of 2010 Bancroft Prize.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Linda Gordon
Honored for : Dorothea Lange: A Life Beyond Limits
Woody Holton
Honored for : Abigail Adams
Margaret D. Jacobs
Honored for : White Mother to a Dark Race: Settler Colonialism, Maternalism, and the Removal of Indigenous Children in the American West and Australia, 1880-1940.