Awards & Winners

Costa Book Awards

The Costa Book Awards are a set of annual literary awards recognising English-language books by writers based in Britain and Ireland. They were inaugurated for 1971 publications and known as the Whitbread Book Awards until 2006 when Costa Coffee, a subsidiary of Whitbread, took over sponsorship. The companion Costa Short Story Award was established in 2012. The awards are given both for high literary merit but also for works that are enjoyable reading and whose aim is to convey the enjoyment of reading to the widest possible audience. As such, they are a more populist literary prize than the Booker Prize. In 1989, controversy erupted when the judges first awarded the Best Novel prize to Alexander Stuart's The War Zone, then withdrew the prize prior to the ceremony amid acrimony among the judges, ultimately awarding it to Lindsay Clarke's The Chymical Wedding.

Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Costa Book Awards since 1971.

Costa Book Awards


Check all the winners of 2010 Costa Book Awards.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Jason Wallace
Honored for : Out of Shadows
Jo Shapcott
Honored for : Of Mutability
Kishwar Desai
Honored for : Witness the Night
Edmund de Waal
Honored for : The Hare with Amber Eyes
Maggie O'Farrell
Honored for : The Hand That First Held Mine