Awards & Winners

Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Music in a Play

Drama Desk Award

The Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Music in a Play is an annual award presented by Drama Desk in recognition of achievements in the theatre among Broadway, Off Broadway and Off-Off Broadway productions. This category was not created until the 1980 ceremony and has only been regularly awarded since 2009. † - indicates the performance won the Tony Award ‡ - indicates the performance was also nominated for the Tony Award

Check all the winners of Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Music in a Play presented under Drama Desk Award since 1992 .

Nico Muhly

Honored for : The Glass Menagerie

Nominations 2014 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Lewis Flinn The Tribute Artist
Elliot Goldenthal A Midsummer Night's Dream
Rob Kearns The Life and Sort of Death of Eric Argyle
Tom Kochan Almost, Maine
Duncan Sheik A Man's a Man
Nico Muhly The Glass Menagerie

Glen Kelly

Honored for : The Nance

Nominations 2013 »

Nominee Nominated Work
César Alvarez Good Person of Szechwan
Eugene Ma The Man Who Laughs
Jane Wang Strange Tales of Liaozhai
Steve Martin As You Like It
Jiří Kadeřábek Act Before You Speak: The Tragical History of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark
Ana Milosavljevic Act Before You Speak: The Tragical History of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark
Mahir Cetiz Act Before You Speak: The Tragical History of Hamlet, Prince of Denmark
Glen Kelly The Nance

Grant Olding

Honored for : One Man, Two Guvnors

Nominations 2012 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Grant Olding One Man, Two Guvnors
Mark Bennett An Iliad
Mark Bennett Richard III
Tom Kitt All's Well That Ends Well
Gina Leishman Septimus and Clarissa
Duncan Sheik Carson McCullers Talks About Love
Suzanne Vega Carson McCullers Talks About Love

Wayne Barker

Honored for : Peter and the Starcatcher

Nominations 2011 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Wayne Barker Peter and the Starcatcher
Alan John The Diary of a Madman
Lars Petter Hagen Baby Universe: A Puppet Odyssey
Tom Kitt The Winter's Tale
Kathryn Bostic Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo
Dan Moses Schreier The Merchant of Venice

Branford Marsalis

Honored for : Fences

Nominations 2010 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Branford Marsalis Fences
Adam Cochran A Play on War
Latham Gaines A Lie of the Mind
Shelby Gaines A Lie of the Mind
Philip Glass The Bacchae
Hem Twelfth Night
Adam Cork Red

Dominic Kanza

Honored for : Ruined

Nominations 2009 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Dominic Kanza Ruined
Mark Bennett The Winter's Tale","The Cherry Orchard
DJ Rekha Rafta, Rafta...
Richard Woodbury Desire Under the Elms
Gary Yershon The Norman Conquests: Living Together","The Norman Conquests: Round and Round the Garden","The Norman Conquests: Table Manners

Mark Bennett

Honored for : The Coast of Utopia: Voyage, The Coast of Utopia: Shipwreck, The Coast of Utopia: Salvage

Nominations 2007 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Mark Bennett The Coast of Utopia: Voyage","The Coast of Utopia: Shipwreck","The Coast of Utopia: Salvage
Adam Cork Frost/Nixon
David Van Tieghem Inherit the Wind
Gerard McBurney Oliver Twist
The Propeller Company The Taming of the Shrew
Ray Rizzo Essential Self-Defense
Adam Rapp Essential Self-Defense
Lucas Papaelias Essential Self-Defense

Willy Schwarz

Honored for : Metamorphoses

Nominations 2002 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Peter John Still Cymbeline
Nona Hendryx Blue
Crispin Cioe True Love
Willy Schwarz Metamorphoses

Jeanine Tesori

Honored for : Twelfth Night

Nominations 1999 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Jeanine Tesori Twelfth Night
Drew McVety Corpus Christi
David Van Tieghem The Turn of the Screw
Richard Woodbury Death of a Salesman
Steven Edis Not About Nightingales

Stephen Warbeck

Honored for : An Inspector Calls

Nominations 1994 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Stephen Warbeck An Inspector Calls
Jonathan Dove Medea
Duke Ellington Timon of Athens
Stanley Silverman Timon of Athens

Ladysmith Black Mambazo

Honored for : The Song of Jacob Zulu

Nominations 1993 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Ladysmith Black Mambazo The Song of Jacob Zulu

Jan A. P. Kaczmarek

Honored for : Tis Pity She's a Whore

Nominations 1992 »

Nominee Nominated Work
Jan A. P. Kaczmarek Tis Pity She's a Whore
Richard Peaslee Akin