Awards & Winners

American Champion Three-Year-Old Male Horse

Eclipse Award

The American Champion Three-Year-Old Male Horse is an American Thoroughbred horse racing honor awarded annually in Thoroughbred flat racing. It became part of the Eclipse Awards program in 1971. The award originated in 1936 when both Turf & Sports Digest the Daily Racing Form began naming an annual champion. Starting in 1950, the Thoroughbred Racing Associations began naming its own champion. The following list provides the name of the horses chosen by these organizations. The only disagreement came in 1968, when Turf & Sports Digest named Forward Pass as champion whereas the other two organisations voted for Stage Door Johnny. Champions prior to 1936 were selected retrospectively by a panel of experts as published by The Blood-Horse magazine. There were Co-Champions chosen retrospectively for 1876, 1882, 1885, 1886, 1888, 1893, 1894, 1904, 1906, 1917, 1923, and 1932. The Daily Racing Form, the Thoroughbred Racing Associations, and the National Turf Writers Association all joined forces in 1971 to create the Eclipse Award.

Check all the winners of American Champion Three-Year-Old Male Horse presented under Eclipse Award since 1919 .