Awards & Winners

FIFA World Player of the Year

The FIFA World Player of the Year is an association football award presented to the player voted as best in the world by coaches and captains of international teams. It began in 1991 as an award for the best men's player in the world In a voting system based on positional voting, each coach has three votes, worth five points, three points and one point, and the winners are ordered based on total number of points. European-based Brazilian players have dominated the award, winning 8 out of 18 times, ahead of the second country France, which won it three times. In terms of individual players who have received the award, Brazil leads with five, followed by Italy and Portugal with two each. The award's youngest winner was Ronaldo, who won at the age of 20 in 1996. He won it again in 1997 and 2002. Both Ronaldo and Ronaldinho won twice in a row. Ronaldo and Zinedine Zidane won the award three times. The oldest winner is Fabio Cannavaro, who was 33 when he won in 2006. In 2010, the FIFA World Player of the Year and France Football's Ballon d'Or award were merged and the world's best male player has since been awarded the FIFA Ballon d'Or each year. A women's award was added in 2001. The women's award has had fewer individual winners. So far, only six players—two Americans, two Germans, one Brazilian, and one Japanese—have won the award. The three women who have won only one award are the most recent winners: Homare Sawa in 2011, Abby Wambach in 2012, and Nadine Angerer in 2013. Marta has won it five times in a row, Birgit Prinz won three times in a row, and Mia Hamm won twice in a row. The oldest winner is Angerer, who was 35 when she won in 2013; she is also the only goalkeeper to win either the women's or men's award. The youngest winner is Marta, who won in 2006 at age 20.

|   2013 FIFA Ballon d'Or Gala  |   2012 FIFA Ballon d'Or Gala  |   2011 FIFA Ballon d'Or Gala  |
FIFA World Player of the Year Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the FIFA World Player of the Year since 1991.

FIFA World Player of the Year


Check all the winners of 2013 FIFA World Player of the Year.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)