Awards & Winners

Guggenheim Fellowship

Guggenheim Fellowships are grants that have been awarded annually since 1925 by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation to those "who have demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts." Each year, the foundation makes several hundred awards in each of two separate competitions: one open to citizens and permanent residents of the United States and Canada. the other to citizens and permanent residents of Latin America and the Caribbean. The performing arts are excluded, although composers, film directors, and choreographers are eligible. The fellowships are not open to students, only to "advanced professionals in mid-career" such as published authors. The fellows may spend the money as they see fit, as the purpose is to give fellows "blocks of time in which they can work with as much creative freedom as possible", but they should also be "substantially free of their regular duties". Applicants are required to submit references as well as a CV and portfolio. The Foundation receives between 3,500 and 4,000 applications every year. Approximately 220 Fellowships are awarded each year. The size of grant varies and will be adjusted to the needs of Fellows, considering their other resources and the purpose and scope of their plans. The average grant in the 2008 Canada and United States competition was approximately US$43,200.

|   1983 Guggenheim Fellowship  |   1972 Guggenheim Fellowship  |   1970 Guggenheim Fellowship  |
Guggenheim Fellowship Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Guggenheim Fellowship since 1925.

Guggenheim Fellowship


Check all the winners of 2014 Guggenheim Fellowship.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Deborah Coen
( History of Science, Technology, & Economics)