Awards & Winners

John Newbery Medal

The John Newbery Medal is a literary award given by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. The award is given to the author of "the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children." Named for John Newbery, an 18th-century English publisher of juvenile books, the Newbery was proposed by Frederic G. Melcher in 1921, making it the first children's book award in the world. The medal was designed by Rene Paul Chambellan and depicts an author giving his work to a boy and a girl to read. The Newbery and the Caldecott Medal are considered the two most prestigious awards for children's literature in the United States. When the winner is announced each January, bookstores sell out, libraries order copies and teachers add the book to their lesson plans. Many bookstores and libraries have Newbery sections; popular television shows interview the winners; textbooks includes lists of Newbery winners, and many master's and doctoral theses are written about them. Beside the one annual Medalist, the committee identifies a variable number of worthy runners-up as Newbery Honor Books. Though the Newbery Honor was initiated in 1938, specially cited runners-up for the Newbery Medal from previous years were retroactively named Newbery Honor books. As few as zero and as many as eight have been named, but from 1938 the number is one to five annual Honors. The Honor Books must be a subset of the runners-up on the final ballot, either the leading runners-up on that ballot or the leaders on one further ballot that excludes the winner.

|   2014 Newbery-Caldecott Awards Banquet  |   2013 Newbery-Caldecott-Wilder Awards Banquet  |   2012 Newbery-Caldecott Awards Banquet  |
John Newbery Medal Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the John Newbery Medal since 1922.

John Newbery Medal


Check all the winners of 2014 John Newbery Medal.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Kate DiCamillo
Honored for : Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures
Holly Black
Honored for : Doll Bones
Kevin Henkes
Honored for : The Year of Billy Miller
Amy Timberlake
Honored for : One Came Home
Vince Vawter
Honored for : Paperboy