Awards & Winners

1979 Locus Award

Check winners and nominations of 1979 Locus Award. Check awards winners of 1979 Locus Award. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Locus Award for Best Novel

Vonda N. McIntyre

Honored for : Dreamsnake

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Elizabeth A. Lynn A Different Light
Tom Reamy Blind Voices
Ben Bova Colony
Vonda N. McIntyre Dreamsnake
Michael Moorcock Gloriana
Chelsea Quinn Yarbro Hotel Transylvania
Marta Randall Journey
Gore Vidal Kalki
Parke Godwin The Masters of Solitude
Marvin Kaye The Masters of Solitude
Katherine Kurtz Saint Camber
Charles Sheffield Sight of Proteus
Jeanne Robinson Stardance II
Spider Robinson Stardance II
Marion Zimmer Bradley Stormqueen!
Gardner Dozois Strangers
Poul Anderson The Avatar
Roger Zelazny The Courts of Chaos
Ursula K. Le Guin The Eye of the Heron
C. J. Cherryh The Faded Sun: Kesrith
C. J. Cherryh The Faded Sun: Shon'Jir
Gordon R. Dickson The Far Call
Joan D. Vinge The Outcasts of Heaven Belt
Stephen King The Stand
Gregory Benford The Stars in Shroud
Anne McCaffrey The White Dragon
James Tiptree, Jr. Up the Walls of the World
Locus Award for Best Short Story

Harlan Ellison

Honored for : Count the Clock that Tells the Time

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Gregory Benford A Hiss of Dragon
Marc Laidlaw A Hiss of Dragon
Jack Dann A Quiet Revolution for Death
Orson Scott Card A Thousand Deaths
C. J. Cherryh Cassandra
Harlan Ellison Count the Clock that Tells the Time
John Middleton Murry, Jr. Drink Me, Francesca
Ray Bradbury Gotcha!
Ursula K. Le Guin SQ
Ian Watson The Very Slow Time Machine
Joan D. Vinge View From a Height
Terry Carr Virra
Christopher Priest Whores
Locus Award for Best Anthology

Terry Carr

Honored for : The Best Science Fiction of the Year 7

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Robert Silverberg Alpha 9
Christopher Priest Anticipations
Roy Torgeson Chrysalis 2
Jack Dann Immortal
Virginia Kidd Millennial Women
Gordon R. Dickson Nebula Winners Twelve
Robert Silverberg New Dimensions 8
Damon Knight Orbit 20
Charles L. Grant Shadows
Judy-Lynn del Rey Stellar #4
Joe Haldeman Study War No More
Andrew J. Offutt Swords Against Darkness III
Donald A. Wollheim The 1978 Annual World's Best SF
Arthur W. Saha The 1978 Annual World's Best SF
Ben Bova The Best of Analog
Terry Carr The Best Science Fiction of the Year #7
Terry Carr Universe 8
Terry Carr Year's Finest Fantasy